Virginia state Income Tax Calculator

The annual Income Tax Return is a mandatory process for all eligible Americans. Each of the fifty states in the country has state legislation regarding the payment of taxes. Interest rates and penalties are handled differently, depending on where you are.

If we talk about the state of Virginia, it is considered a territory with friendly taxes for retirees as it eliminates tariffs on many social benefits. In the following lines, we will go through income tax and the Virginia state Income Tax Calculator.

What is my VA state tax rate?

The tax rate is a figure on which the state’s provision of an individual public service to the taxpayer is generated. In Virginia, they range from 2%, 3%, 5%, and up to 5.75%.

If you are wondering what Virginia’s tax brackets are for 2021, we show you the indicators with the numbers that each figure represents.

Tax rate: 2% 3% 5% 5% 5.75% Tax rate: 2% 3% 5% 5.75%

Taxable income brackets

  • $0 a $3.000
  • $3.001 a $5.000
  • $5.001 a $17.000
  • 17,001 and over 

Tax due

  • 2% of taxable income
  • 60 plus 3% of the total above $3,000
  • 120 plus 5% of the amount over $5,000
  • $720 plus 5.75 % of the total over $17,000

When am I required to pay taxes in Virginia?

You are required to pay income tax if you meet any of the following characteristics:

  • You are a resident, partial resident, or non-resident
  • You are required to file a Federal Income Tax Return
  • You have a gross income over the Virginia income guidelines; i.e., $11,950 if you are single and $23,900 if you are married, filing a joint return

What type of resident am I for income tax purposes?

To pay taxes in Virginia as a resident, there are three figures. They are as follows:

Resident status rules

This corresponds to citizens and permanent residents in the state of Virginia. The taxpayer must have the territory as his place of residence for more than 183 days. This type of person also files Form 760. These are the conditions under which you become a resident:

  • You have more than 183 days in the state of Virginia consecutively
  • You are an out-of-state resident, but you go to college in Virginia
  • You are a resident of Virginia but go to college in another state

Half-Year Resident Status Rules

As the name implies, you will pay this tax when you stay in Virginia for six months. This tax usually applies to people who recently moved to the state and spent half of the year in the territory.

Form 760 – PY is filed for this type of tax. It is considered a state tax where the taxes received in that period resident in Virginia are audited.

Non-resident status rules

Even non-residents have to pay Virginia taxes if they have sources of income within the state. That means you have to pay taxes if you live in another state but receive payment from Virginia. Only if your business is on this list are you required to pay taxes:

  • Providing services within Virginia
  • Renting real property you own 
  • The sale or transfer of real property 
  • Income from a Virginia business, trade, or profession

Non-residents: travelers and military

There are two exceptions to this rule for non permanent residents: travelers and military. 


If you are a non-resident but commute daily from Kentucky or Washington, DC, you do not have to file a tax return; if you do not have a place in Virginia and your income is from Kentucky or Washington, DC. 

Suppose you are a non-resident but you commute daily from Maryland, Pennsylvania, or West Virginia. In that case, you do not have to pay income tax if your wages are subject to Maryland, Pennsylvania, or West Virginia rules.


When it comes to uniformed personnel, the tax rules can get complex. Military members who serve in Virginia but are legal residents of another state are classified as “non-residents,” even if they have been working in the territory for years.